Daal Palak

Image

Delhi winters are rather weird. One wakes up to a foggy and dewy morning, only to find an hour later that the fog has been replaced by dense clouds. And before one can understand the mood swings of the weather gods, it starts raining. Deceived by the sun playing hide-and-seek with the clouds, I woke up pretty late today. And saw it was raining! What else does the incurable romantic in me want! Grinning, I wrapped myself with a shawl and embarked on a walk to the market. Just to get wet!! And  returned with a fresh bunch of spinach. Now, in such an awesome weather, all I really need is a good book, a warm blanket and good food. I decided on making Daal Palak with steaming hot rice. A wholesome and yummy meal in itself, I love Daal Palak because it keeps me warm and the rice helps me get a good nap in the cold, wintry afternoons. Here’s my recipe for winter-afternoon-bliss for you:

Ingredients:

1 bowl dhuli moong daal (washed and soaked)
1/2 bunch spinach (cleaned thoroughly and finely chopped)
1 tablespoon ghee
2 dry red chillies
1 tablespoon ginger-garlic paste
1/2 teaspoon cumin seeds
1/4 teaspoon asafoetida
1 tomato (finely chopped)
1/2 teaspoon cumin powder
1/2 teaspoon red chilly powder
1/2 teaspoon garam masala powder
1 teaspoon turmeric powder
Salt (to taste)
200 ml water

Recipe:

Pressure cook the daal and chopped spinach leaves with turmeric powder and salt in 200 ml water till done. Heat ghee in a pan. Add cumin seeds and fry for a minute. Add dry red chillies and asafoetida and stir. Add the ginger-garlic paste and fry till it turns light brown. Add in the chopped tomatoes. Cook till the tomatoes are tender. Add cumin powder, red chilly powder, garam masala powder and mix well. Mix in the boiled daal and bring it to a boil. Drizzle a teaspoon of ghee and relish with steamed rice and pickle.

I like my Daal Palak a bit tangy, so I add just a hint of amchoor to it. You can add too, if you like! Also, you can leave out the tomatoes. But I personally love a dash of red with my greens and can’t do without it.

Eat, drink and be merry! 🙂

One comment on “Daal Palak

  1. Pingback: Daal Palak | ayummygreenworld

Leave a Reply

