Dark Chocolate Mousse

Image

Dark Chocolate Mousse used to be my favorite store-bought dessert. Till the time I did not use eggs in my kitchen. Now, ever since I brought home an adorable pooch and started giving him eggs for his meals, I have started storing eggs in my refrigerator and use them once in a while in cakes and other confectionery items. One day I thought, why not try making my favorite dessert at home? Which was, unquestionably, Dark Chocolate Mousse. Now, I have a certain weakness for dark, very dark chocolates. Knowing this, my Brother, who lives in Dubai, brings me bags full of chocolates with 70-80% cocoa whenever he visits me. So, well, as you can imagine, my fridge is always full of chocolates. Using one of those blocks, I made this sinfully rich and creamy Mousse and got the exact texture that I wanted in the very first attempt. That sure was my Eureka moment. Find yours by trying out this simple method and woo your loved ones with your culinary conquests. Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

1 block dark chocolate (broken into pieces)
200 ml fresh cream
4 eggs (separated)
4 tablespoons sugar
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
1 cup whipped cream (for garnish)
Glazed cherries (for garnish)

Recipe:

Melt the chocolate pieces and butter on a double boiler. Stir well to remove any lumps and allow it to cool. Ensure that the chocolate does not solidify.

Meanwhile, beat the egg whites till soft peaks are formed. Slowly stir in the sugar and mix well. In a separate bowl, beat the fresh cream till light and fluffy.

Add the egg yolks to the melted chocolate and fold in gently. Add half of the whipped cream and stir well. Now, add the whisked egg whites and fold in till incorporated. Add the remaining whipped cream and mix well.

Pour into cups and put in the refrigerator to set. Mousse takes about 7-8 hours to set properly and acquire the perfect texture. When it is set well, remove the cups from the refrigerator and garnish with whipped cream and glazed cherries. Serve chilled.

Eat, drink and be merry! 🙂

PS: Use milk chocolate and follow the same recipe if you are not a dark chocolate lover!

Leave a Reply

