Chutney Waale Aloo Matar

Image

The last three days have been crazy. My dog, Dodo, suddenly fell very ill and with Hubby out of town, it wasn’t at all a smooth ride. Now, thankfully, Dodo is somewhat better. Hubby is back too. But do I need to say I am exhausted? Well, even exhausted in an understatement! And then I realize the last proper meal I had was some 50 hours ago. I am famished and I am also exhausted. So what do I do? Well, since I don’t want to eat restaurant food, I prepare another of my quick-fixes. Mom used to make Chutney Waale Aloo Matar regularly and thus it has been a favorite since my childhood. It is a tangy, spicy, and delicious-beyond-words dish, which can be savored as a snack, a chaat or eaten with Paranthas. Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

2 medium potatoes
1 bowl green peas (shelled)
1 bunch coriander leaves
2 green chillies
6 cloves garlic
Juice of 1 large lemon
1 tsp cumin powder
Salt (to taste)
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 cup water

Recipe:

Roughly chop the coriander leaves and wash them well. Add to a blender along with garlic cloves, green chillies, salt and half the lemon juice. Blend to make green chutney.

Peel the potatoes and cut into small cubes. Heat oil in a pan and add the potato cubes. Fry till the potatoes turn golden. Add 4 tablespoons of the prepared green chutney and cumin powder and mix well. Add a cup of water and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat and add the shelled green peas. Add some more salt as per requirement and stir it in. Cover the pan with a lid and let simmer for 5-7 mins or till the peas are cooked and tender. Now remove the lid and mix in the remaining lemon juice. Transfer to a serving dish, garnish with sliced onions and serve hot.

Eat, drink and be merry! 🙂

Leave a Reply

