Badam Besan Laddoo

Image

There is something about Besan Laddoos that is hard to describe in words. The appetizing smell of gram flour roasted in ghee, the rich, sweet taste and the crunch of nuts in those perfectly shaped balls of bliss…! Besan Laddoo has always been a favorite in my family. So I have practically grown up eating these. It is among my husband’s top favorite sweets as well and so I don’t miss a chance to make it at home. I like some added crunch in my Laddoos, so I add a spoonful of granulated sugar along with the powdered sugar. If you want a smooth texture, omit this step and just add the powdered sugar. Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

1-1/2 cup gram flour (besan)
1 cup powdered sugar
1/2 cup ghee
1 teaspoon green cardamom powder
15-20 almonds (dry roasted and crushed)

Recipe:

Heat the ghee in a pan and roast gram flour on medium flame for about 7-8 mins or till you start getting a rich aroma. Add crushed almonds and cardamom powder and roast for 2 mins. Reduce from flame and allow it to cool completely. Once cool, add the powdered sugar and mix well. Shape into lemon sized balls and store in an airtight container.

Eat, drink and be merry! 🙂

2 comments on “Badam Besan Laddoo

  1. That really looks yummy. I would definitely like to try it. One question from me…do I need to store it in the refrigerator? Or can I just keep the laddoos in an airtight container and store in cool, dry place at room temperature?

    • Besan Laddoos are best stored at room temperature. Refrigerating them would solidify the ghee. These laddoos, when stored in an airtight container, can last up to a month. If there are any left after 2-3 days, that is 😛

Leave a Reply

