Sprouts Tikki

Image

I can’t believe I have been away from my blog for a month!! This is what holiday season does to people! Holidaying, spending time with friends and family and taking everything easy does make one laidback. And I knew it today, when I saw the date I had last updated my blog! Anyway, I hope all my blogger friends and readers are having a good time too! I am back with my recipes and I promise to keep updating this space regularly now. My resolve to eat healthy is still continuing *touchwood!* and though the extreme heat has wreaked havoc to my appetite, I do make sure I am getting adequate nutrients in my food. A potato and cottage cheese patty stuffed with mixed sprouts is one dish that has become a regular in my kitchen these days. It is not only great to taste, but also full of nourishment. And of course, very easy to make. You can enjoy these Tikkis with a chutney or ketchup of your choice and you can also place these in wholewheat burger buns and serve them to your kids when they return from school or play. Trust me, they will love it! Here’s the recipe:

INGREDIENTS:

1 large potato (boiled, peeled and grated)
1/2 cup cottage cheese (grated)
2 tablespoons gram flour
1 tablespoon brown bread crumbs
Salt & Black Pepper (to taste)
2 tablespoons olive oil

FOR THE FILLING

1/2 cup mixed sprouts (steamed)
1 carrot (peeled and grated)
1 tablespoon coriander leaves (finely chopped)
1 green chilly (finely chopped)
Juice of half lemon
Salt (to taste)

METHOD:

Mix the potato, cottage cheese, gram flour, bread crumbs, salt and black pepper together. Knead into a dough and set aside.

Mix the sprouts, carrot, coriander leaves, green chilly, lemon juice and salt.

Make small balls of the potato-cottage cheese mixture and flatten them on your palm. Place a spoonful of the filling in the centre and shape into patties. Shallow fry on a griddle using olive oil. Cook till crisp on both sides. Serve hot.

Image

Eat, drink and be merry! 🙂

6 comments on “Sprouts Tikki

  1. I missed you! However, I think it is OK to check out of the bloggy world and connect with the other priorities in your life. This upcoming month is extremely busy for me with my real world responsibilities. This recipe looks delicious and divine. I have pinned it on PInterest. I am not sure what gram flour is and wonder if you could clarify? Hope all is well, Thea

    • I missed you all too, Thea! And you are right. We all deserve a break sometimes 🙂 Thanks for liking this dish. The gram flour that I have used is flour made from chickpeas. It is used just for binding and can be substituted with cornflour. Take care! xoxo!

Leave a Reply

