Cashew Cookies (Eggless)

Image

A week to Diwali! The excitement is building up. This festival is special for me because it falls on a new moon day every year and it is the day I was born too! So I am spending most of my time dishing out goodies and stocking my kitchen with ingredients to prepare sweets and snacks. Dry fruits form an integral part of Diwali celebrations. Now, if there is one dry fruit that I have to hide in my kitchen, it is cashew. Hubby loves cashew so much that one day I buy a pack of cashew and next day I find it all gone. While I keep cashew out of his reach for the better part of the year (I have to watch his triglyceride and cholesterol levels too, don’t I?), I let him indulge during this festival. The first thing I have made out of cashew this week is this batch of delicious Cashew Cookies. Now this batch is all for him, I have promised him. The next batch will go out to friends and family for Diwali (the condition being that I am able find them where I keep them!). Here’s the recipe:

INGREDIENTS:

1 cup all purpose flour
1/4 cup semolina
1/2 cup cashew (coarsely crushed)
100 grams unsalted butter
2 tablespoons yogurt (beaten)
1/2 cup powdered sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon cardamom powder
10-12 whole cashews (optional/for garnish)

RECIPE:

Using an electric beater, beat together sugar and butter in a bowl till soft and creamy. Add yogurt and beat lightly. Mix flour, semolina, crushed cashew, baking powder, baking soda and cardamom powder and mix till a dough is formed. Wrap the dough with a cling wrap and refrigerate it for 30 mins.

Preheat oven at 180 degrees Celsius for 5 minutes. Grease a baking tray with cooking spray.

Remove the dough from the refrigerator and divide it into lemon sized balls. Line the balls on the baking tray and press down gently with a fork. You can also place half a cashew on each ball and press down gently with your finger. Bake at 180 degrees for 15 minutes. Allow the cookies to stand in the oven for 3 minutes before taking them out. Let the cookies cool completely before storing them in an airtight jar.

Image

Eat, drink and be merry! πŸ™‚

2 comments on “Cashew Cookies (Eggless)

Leave a Reply

