Macaroni Masala

Image

This is Macaroni with an Indian twist. Looks yum? Then read on. I was introduced to Macaroni Masala in 2008, in the canteen of the newspaper office where I worked. Intrigued by the fusion of the flavors, I had asked the cook to share the recipe with me. He did, and ever since, Macaroni Masala has become a life saver dish for me. I make it when I can’t think of anything else. I make it when I am hungry and I want a quick fix meal. I make it when I have guests over at my place. I make it, well, every time I want to eat a fusion dish. Popular in north India, Macaroni Masala is just the perfect blend of East and West. Cooked with Indian spices, this dish is easy, yummy and healthy, all at the same time. Getting impatient to know the recipe? Okay, here it is:

INGREDIENTS:

1 bowl whole wheat macaroni (cooked)
1 small tomato (finely chopped)
1 onion (finely chopped)
1 teaspoon ginger-garlic paste
1 green chili (minced)
1/4 teaspoon cumin seeds
1/2 teaspoon roasted cumin powder
1/2 teaspoon red chili powder
1/4 teaspoon garam masala powder (or all spice powder)
2 tablespoons tomato puree
2 tablespoons tomato ketchup
1 teaspoon lemon juice
1 teaspoon soy sauce
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 cup water

RECIPE:

Heat olive oil in a non-stick pan and add cumin seeds. When they begin to crackle, add ginger-garlic paste and green chili and saute for half a minute.

Add chopped onion and cook till it turns translucent. Now add chopped tomatoes and cook till the tomatoes are tender. Then add tomato puree and tomato ketchup and mix well.

Add cumin powder, red chili powder, garam masala powder and salt and mix.

Add water and cook covered on high for 5 minutes. When the water has reduced, add soy sauce and lemon juice and mix well. Add cooked macaroni and stir till the sauce mixes well with it. Cover the pan and cook for 3 minutes,

Transfer to a serving dish and serve hot.

Eat, drink and be merry! 🙂

NOTE: This is the recipe that I was introduced to. You can add more vegetables like shredded carrot, cabbage, french beans and bell peppers to make this dish more nutritious. Now it’s easier making your kids eat vegetables!

12 comments on “Macaroni Masala

  1. Pingback: The Versatile Blogger Award | Poppy's Patisserie | Bunny Kitchen

Leave a Reply

