Lahori Keema Naan (Pakistan Special)

IMG_20140725_1

Hello World! Hope you all are doing good. Many of my readers have been complaining that I haven’t been very regular in this space of mine. Well, I agree I have been rather lazy. My social life has kept me so busy that I have hardly had any time for any virtual updates. At the end of the day, I am so spent that I hardly feel like even switching on my laptop. Recipe demands have been piling up in my inbox and I promise I will try to address each one of them. Honest promise!

The first one is this vegetarian version of the famous Lahori Keema Naan. I made this one just like that one evening, simply as an excuse to eat something other than the routine fare. While making this, I especially kept in mind the taste of my Keema lover husband, without having to compromise on my vegetarianism. I made a stuffing that tasted like spiced and minced meat and decided to test it on him. He couldn’t believe his wife who swore she would never touch meat had made a meat dish just for him! πŸ˜‰ Experiment successful! Hehe πŸ˜› I served Keema Naan with Pindi Chana, a specialty chickpea dish from Rawalpindi, Pakistan, and Boondi Raita. He later commented on my Facebook timeline that this was the best Keema Naan he had ever had! Now isn’t that some compliment?! πŸ˜€ Well, if you want to know the secret of my vegetarian Keema, read on:

INGREDIENTS:

For the Naan Dough:

2 cups all purpose flour
1/2 cup yogurt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
2 tablespoons refined oil
1/2 teaspoon sugar
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup warm water

For sprinkling:

1 tablespoon Nigella seeds
1 tablespoon coriander leaves (chopped)
Butter

For the Keema Stuffing:

1/2 cup soya granules (soaked in hot water for 30 minutes and strained)
1 teaspoon vegetable oil
1 teaspoon butter
1/4 teaspoon cumin seeds
1 black cardamom
A pinch asafoetida
1 clove garlic (minced)
1/4 inch piece ginger (grated)
1 small onion (chopped)
1 green chilli (finely chopped)
1 tablespoon coriander leaves (chopped)
1/4 teaspoon garam masala powder
Salt (to taste)

RECIPE:

Mix all the ingredients for the dough and knead well to form a soft, elastic dough. Cover with a damp cloth and set aside for 30 mins.

To prepare the stuffing, heat oil in a pan. When the oil is hot, add butter and allow it to melt.

Add cumin seeds and black cardamom and allow it to splutter.

Add asafoetida, minced garlic, grated ginger and green chilli. Stir fry for a minute.

Add onion and fry till it turns pink.

Now add the soya granules, salt and garam masala. Mix well.

Cook covered for 2 minutes.

Add coriander leaves and mix well.

Divide the dough into equal sized balls.

Flatten each ball and put a spoonful of the Keema stuffing in the centre.

Gather and seal the edges and shape into a ball again.

Roll out each ball with a rolling pin, using some flour for dusting. You can shape it into a circle, an oblong or a triangle.

Sprinkle some nigella seeds and coriander leaves on each rolled out Naan. Press down with your fingers.

Heat a griddle and cook the Naan covered, flipping over sides, till both sides are evenly cooked.

Brush some butter and serve hot with any Curry, Chutney or Pickle of your choice.

IMG_20140724_1

Eat, drink and be merry! πŸ™‚

5 comments on “Lahori Keema Naan (Pakistan Special)

Leave a comment